

How did your legislators vote on the 2019 bill to repeal the death penalty?

In the 2019 Wyoming legislative session, <u>House Bill 145</u>, legislation that would have repealed the death penalty drew, far more support from state lawmakers than ever before. The bill had 13 co-sponsors in the House and five in the Senate (noted with an * after their name below), and had the support of leadership in both chambers. Ultimately, the bill passed in the House but failed with an 18-12 vote in the Senate.

Ending the death penalty is not a partisan issue. The death penalty's history of deep injustices, skyrocketing costs, and entrenched discrimination defies party lines. How did your legislators vote? The ACLU of Wyoming tracked the votes.

WYOMING SENATE

Voted yes:

<u>Liisa Anselmi-Dalton,*</u> D-Sweetwater County, District S12

<u>Fred Baldwin</u>, R-Lincoln, Sublette, Sweetwater, Uinta Counties, District S14

Brian Boner,* R-Converse, Platte Counties, District S02

Cale Case, R-Fremont County, District S25
Affie Ellis, R-Laramie County, District S08
Mike Gierau, D-Teton County, District S17
R. J. Kost, R-Big Horn, Park Counties, District S19

Bill Landen,* R-Natrona County, District S27 Stephan Pappas,* R-Laramie County, District S07 Chris Rothfuss,* D-Albany County, District S09 Wendy Schuler, R-Uinta County, District S15 Michael Von Flatern, R-Campbell County, District S24

Voted no:

District S06

Wyatt Agar, R-Big Horn, Fremont, Hot Springs, Park, Washakie Counties, District S20

Jim Anderson, R-Natrona County, District S28

Eli Bebout, R-Fremont County, District S26

Bo Biteman, R-Sheridan County, District S21

Anthony Bouchard, R-Laramie, Goshen Counties,

Henry H.R. "Hank" Coe, R-Park County, District S18

<u>Dan Dockstader</u>, R-Lincoln, Sublette, Teton Counties, District S16

Ogden Driskill, R-Crook, Campbell, Weston Counties, District S01

<u>Larry Hicks</u>, R-Albany, Carbon, Sweetwater Counties, District S11

Lynn Hutchings, R-Laramie County, District S05 Tom James, R-Sweetwater County, District S13 Dave Kinskey, R-Sheridan, Johnson County, District S22

Glenn Moniz, R-Albany County, District S10
Tara Nethercott, R-Laramie County, District S04
Drew Perkins, R-Natrona County, District S29
Charles Scott, R-Natrona County, District S30
Cheri Steinmetz, R-Goshen, Niobrara, Weston
Counties, District S03
Jeff Wasserburger, R-Campbell, Converse

Counties, District S23

WYOMING HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Voted yes:

Eric Barlow,* R-Campbell, Converse Counties, District H03

Stan Blake, D-Sweetwater County, District H39 Landon Brown,* R-Laramie Coujnty, District H09 Donald Burkhart, Jr,* R-Carbon County, District H15

Sara Burlingame, D-Laramie County, District H44
Aaron Clausen, R-Converse County, District H06
Andi Clifford, D-Fremont Coujnty, District H33
Cathy Connolly,* D-Albany County, District H13
Tom Crank, R-Lincoln, Sweetwater, Uinta
Counties, District H18

<u>JoAnn Dayton-Selman,*</u> D-Sweetwater County, District H17

Shelly Duncan, R-Goshen County, District H05 John Eklund, R-Laramie, Goshen Counties, District H10

<u>Danny Eyre</u>, R-Uinta County, District H19 <u>Jamie Flitner</u>,* R-Big Horn, Park Counties, District H26

John Freeman, D-Sweetwater County, District H60

Bill Haley, R-Albany County, District H46 Steve Harshman,* R-Natrona County, District H37

<u>Bill Henderson</u>, R-Laramie County, District H41 <u>Hans Hunt</u>, R-Niobrara, Weston, Goshen Counties, District H02

Mark Kinner, R-Sheridan County, District H29 <u>Dan Kirkbride</u>, R-Platte, Converse Counties, District H04

<u>Lloyd Larsen</u>, R-Fremont County, District H54 <u>Tyler Lindholm</u>,* R-Crook, Weston Counties, District H01

Sandy Newsome, R-Park County, District H24 Bob Nicholas, R-Laramie County, District H08 Jared Olsen,* R-Laramie County, District H11 Jerry Paxton, R-Carbon, Albany, Sweetwater Counties, District H47

<u>Charles Pelkey,*</u> D-Albany Counties, District H45 <u>Garry Piiparinen</u>, R-Uinta County, District H49 <u>Jim Roscoe</u>, I-Lincoln, Sublette, Teton Counties, District H22

Richard Tass, R-Johnson, Sheridan Counties, District H40

Art Washut, R-Natrona County, District H36

Cyrus Western, R-Sheridan County, District H51

Sue Wilson,* R-Laramie County, District H07

Mike Yin, D-Teton County, District H16

Dan Zwonitzer, R-Laramie County, District H43

Voted no:

Jim Blackburn, R-Laramie County, District H42 Scott Clem, R-Campbell County, District H31 Roy Edwards, R-Campbell County, District H53 Dan Furphy, R-Albany County, District H14 Chuck Gray, R-Natrona County, District H57 Mike Greear, R-Big Horn, Washakie Counties, District H27

Tim Hallinan, R-Campbell County, District H32 Mark Jennings, R-Sheridan County, District H30 Dan Laursen, R-Park County, District H25 Bunky Loucks, R-Natrona County, District H59 Joe MacGuire, R-Natrona County, District H35 David Miller,* R-Fremont County, District H55 Jerry Obermueller, R-Natrona County, District H56

Bill Pownall, R-Campbell County, District H52
Tim Salazar, R-Fremont County, District H34
Albert Sommers, R-Sublette County, District H20
Clark Stith, R-Sweetwater County, District H48
Clarence Styvar, R-Laramie County, District H12
Pat Sweeney, R-Natrona County, District H58
Tom Walters, R-Natrona County, District H38
John Winter, R-Big Horn, Hot Springs, Fremont,
Park Counties, District H28

House of Representatives – Absent/no vote recorded

<u>David Northrup</u>, R-Park County, District H50 <u>Andy Schwartz</u>,* D-Teton County, District H23 <u>Evan Simpson</u>, R-Lincoln County, District H21